Quiet September Market Favours Buyers
October 3rd, 2023
Last month, there were 266 sales of single-family homes in the VIREB area, an 11 per cen... more »


The Vancouver Island Real Estate Board got its start in 1951 as part of a growing effort to professionalize the real estate industry. That year, three Nanaimo real estate salesmen came together and formed the Nanaimo Real Estate Board. Although these salesmen were competitors in the industry, they recognized a growing need for industry education and standardized sales practices. They wanted to professionalize the industry and ensure public confidence. 

More than sixty years later, VIREB is an active part of organized real estate in Canada, committed to improving real estate standards and encouraging positive home ownership policies for all Canadians.  
Our Milestones
Three Nanaimo salesmen come together to form the Nanaimo Real Estate Board (NREB)
NREB’s joins the Canadian Association of Real Estate Boards (CAREB, later CREA)
The Board moves to adopt the Victoria Real Estate Board’s Code of Ethics
The NREB changes its name to the Nanaimo County Real Estate Board (NCREB) demonstrating its consideration of communities outside of the City of Nanaimo.
NCREB holds its first education event, a two-day seminar at the Island Hall in Parksville with a focus on advertising.
Membership expands to include the north Island. The Board votes to change its name to the Vancouver Island Real Estate Board
Board votes to allow Sunday showings between 1pm and 5pm.
VIREB starts its Multiple Listings Service® and is formerly registered as a Society.
VIREB forms a Salesmen’s Division
VIREB launches its video tape education program and traveling seminars
VIREB launches bursaries for UBC and Malaspina College
VIREB opens its new board office on Metral Drive
VIREB sets up its first IBM system
VIREB awards its first REALTOR® of the Year Award
Dorothy (Smith) Whittome is acclaimed VIREB’s first female President
Board begins allocating funds towards community projects in each Zone. The Nanaimo Zone decides to purchase the Maquinna Mask
VIREB initiates the Realty Watch Program, and shares the idea with other Boards. This is the start of Realty Watch in BC
The Board approves a building extension to accommodate new computer technology, including Xerox copiers for in-house printing
VIREB votes to adopt CREA’s Standards of Practice and Code of Ethics in order to create a nationally recognized standard of protocol
VIREB celebrates its 40th anniversary. The Zones host All-Candidates Meetings as part of the provincial election process
VIREB launches its first website, and partners with an ISP to market listings online
VIREB provides input into the new provincial Real Estate Act
VIREB creates its first Commercial Division to address the unique needs of commercial real estate
Real Estate Council imposes mandatory continuing education for licensed Representatives
VIREB launches the REALTOR® Care Award to showcase philanthropic good works and community service done by REALTORS® across the Island
VIREB establishes an Endowment Fund at Malaspina-University College (which would become Vancouver Island University, VIU later that year).
VIREB celebrates its 60th anniversary
Past Presidents
1959-60 Ron C. Dickie* 
1960-61 Richard N. Carey*
1961-62 Ken T. Guest*
1962-63 Jack Evans*
1963-64 Ed Hess*
1964-65 Frank J. Ney*
1965-66 R.F. (Pat) Moore*
1966-67 Allan Armstrong*
1967-68 Lloyd G. Wood
1968-70 Jack A. Ellis
1970-71 Reg N.L. Eaton
1971-73 Tom Johnstone
1973 Vic Price
1974 Lorne Miller*
1975 Deane D. Finlayson*
1976 Denis E. O’Leary
1977 Allan F. Parker*
1978 David L. Paterson*
1979 Dorothy Whittome
1980 Chuck Perry
1981 Martyn Douglas
1982 Marion Podritske
1983-84 Barry Clark
1985 Tony Pearson
1986 Diane Fullmer
1987 Bruce Berry
1988 Barry Watchorn
1989 Joan Leach
1990 Margaret Leck
1991 Roger McKinnon
1992 Derrick Pereira
1993 Margaret Leck
1994 Mark Anderson
1995 L.R. (Bob) Koester
1996 Wayne Hoffart
1997 Frank Phillips
1998 John Finlayson
1999 David Ney
2000 Norm Cauchie
2001 John Tillie
2002 Susan McGougan
2003 Tom McNee*
2004 Gabrielle Osborne
2005 Jim Hoffman
2006 Darrell Paysen
2007 Jennifer Lynch
2008 Subhadra Ghose
2009 Ray Francis
2010 Cliff Moberg
2011  Jim Stewart
2012  Guy Bezeau
2013  Gary Gray
2014  Blair Herbert
2015  Jason Finlayson
2016  Margo Hoffman             
2017  Janice Stromar
2018  Don McClintock
2019  Kaye Broens
2020  Kevin Reid
2021  Ian Mackay
2022  Erica Kavanaugh   
Honourary Members
Herbert R. Fullerton 
Stan Hamilton 
Robert Clarke 
Dermot Murphy
R.F. (Pat) Moore
Ralph C. Walker 
Bob Clarke
Marty Douglas
Barry Clark
Subhadra Ghose
Jennifer Lynch
Salesmen Division Chairs
1969 Ewart Mabee 
1970-71 Ralph Walker 
1972-73 Gordon K. Blackhall 
1974 Jim Robertson